The ISE receives governance from its Board of Directors, and advisement from two other Boards, the Board of Trustees - and the Board of Community Advisors.

The ISE Board of Community Advisors is comprised of leaders elected from across the community who posses “laser sharp” insights and abilities with very specific, focused elements of the overall ISE mission. 

The BCA is thus a group of people who are continually invited to provide targeted, explicit feedback in their specific areas of expertise, which ranges from expertise in multi-cultural outreach to expertise in theatre to expertise in festivals and other elements critical to the success of the ISE mission.



Mary Brubaker

2007 Women of Influence Award

Founder, Drama Workshop

James Collier

Community Philanthropist

Donna DaVilla

Arts Educator and Consultant

Dr. Julia Goodin

Chief Medical Examiner, State of Iowa

Stephen King, CFEE

Certified Festival &  Event Executive;

CEO Des Moines Arts Festival

Elvin McDonald

Des Moines Botanical Center Friends, Director

Bruce Nuzum

Vice President of Finance, Iowa Area Development Group

Paula Plasencia

CEO, Latino Heritage Museum

Claudia Schabel

Diversity Specialist, The Principal

Maxwell Schaeffer

KIOA Radio; Founding Member, Stagewest Theatre

Rudy Simms

Director, Des Moines Human Rights Commission

Margaret Zacharias, Ph.D.

Author, Educational Consultant, and Community Cultural Leader