The ISE receives governance, policy and planning input from four different groups of community members: 

  • Our governance Board of Directors
  • Our Board of Trustees
  • Our Board of Community Advisors, and
  • Our Young Professionals Association

Without these passionate, dedicated volunteers and experienced community leaders, The Iowa Shakespeare Experience would be nothing more than a Midsummer’s Dream.  Join us in a salute to their commitment to the arts and to our community.


The ISE Board of Directors is the sole governance body of the organization.



Dr. Bruce Hughes, Founding President

Mercy Medical Center

Mr. John Taylor, President

Dupont International

Ms. Cindy De Pond, Vice President

Arts Consultant

Mr. David Watson, Secretary

Wells Fargo






Barb Adams,

Mathmatics Professional and Community Volunteer

Erica Axiotis

Development Officer, Mercy Hospital

Board of Directors, Des Moines Junior League

Joan Burke

Community Volunteer, Past President; Des Moines Metro Opera Guild

Christine Collinet,

Veteran Non Profit Expertise

The Honorable  Preston A. Daniels, on leave

Cindy DePond

Arts Consultant; Past Interim Executive Director, Winefest/Civic Music Association

Jill Ferguson

Community Volunteer

Jim Ferguson

Community Volunteer

Charles Fuller

Metro Specialty Products and Special Events Management

Robin Heinemann

Professional Administrator and Educator

Executive Director of the Iowa Shakespeare Experience

Dr. Cookie Kuhle (in absentia)

Preventative Medicine Fellow at Mayo Clinic

Doug Lewis

Community Volunteer

Theresa Lewis

Community Volunteer

Nancy Norman

Community Volunteer

John Norwood,

President, TBL Investing

Dan McFall

Principal, United Financial Services

Connie Ode

Community Volunteer and Author: Festivals of Iowa

Lorenzo Sandoval

MFA Artist, published Playwright, Theatre teaching Professional

Artistic Director, The Iowa Shakespeare Experience

John Schmacker

CFO, Regional Red Cross

John Tone

Community Volunteer; Past President, Des Moines Rotary/Rotary International


We thank and recognize the invaluable service of the following Founding Board Members:

Edwina Brandon

Dr. Judy Conlin, Ph.D

Beth Dalbey

Al Greffinius, Of Counsel, Davis Brown

Jeanne Hobson

Win Kelly

Kathy MacBeth

Bobbie Brenton Mattheis, MA ED

Stephanie Windsor

Dr. Margaret Zacharias